The UCSF Anchor Institution Mission operates by committees. Under this governance structure, content experts, university leadership, community members, business leaders, and other partners lend their expertise and passion and leverage their collective knowledge and guide all major aspects of our work and advance the Anchor strategy at UCSF. 

Our primary committee is the Center for Community Engagement/Anchor Steering Committee. This committee provides strategic, high-level guidance for the work of both the Center for Community Engagement and the Anchor Institution Mission and ensures progress towards our goals. 

Center for Community Engagement/UCSF Anchor Steering Committee Members:

  • Monique LeSarre (Co-Chair)
    Executive Director, Rafiki Coalition for Health and Wellness
  • Francesca Vega (Co-Chair)
    Vice Chancellor, Community & Government Relations, UCSF
  • Tomas Aragon
    Health Officer, Department of Public Health, City and County of San Francisco
  • Lisa Berens
    Associate Clinical Professor, School of Dentistry, UCSF
  • Aude Dalie Bouagnon, PhD
    UCSF Medical Student
  • Jeffrey Chiu
    Vice President, Human Resources, UCSF
  • Chuck Collins
    President and Chief Executive Officer of the YMCA of San Francisco
  • Shelby Decosta
    Senior Vice President of Strategy and Business development, & Chief Strategy Officer, UCSF Health
  • Luis Granados
    Chief Executive Officer, Mission Economic Development Agency (MEDA)
  • Kevin Grumbach
    Professor and Chair, Family and Community Medicine, School of Medicine, UCSF
  • Saeeda Hafiz
    Wellness Policy Project Manager, School Health Program, San Francisco Unified School District
  • Artanesha Jackson
    FINDconnect Program Manager, UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital Oakland
  • Melissa Jones
    Executive Director, BARHI - Bay Area Regional Health Inequities Initiative
  • Saidah Leatutufu
    Director, Economic Advancement, HOPE SF
  • Adrian Núñez
    Masters in Nursing Candidate 2022, UCSF
  • M.F. Chester Palesoo
    Leadership Development Consultant, API Consulting Network
  • Douglas M. Parrish
    President and CEO of Red Dipper, Inc., Vice President of SF African American Chamber of Commerce
  • Howard Pinderhughes
    Professor, Director of the Sociology Doctoral Program, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, UCSF
  • Ellie Rossiter
    Initiative Officer and Partnership Director, HOPE SF, San Francisco Foundation
  • Victor Rubin
    Vice President for Research, PolicyLink
  • Christina Shea
    Deputy Chief/Director of Clinical Services of Richmond Area Multi-Services
  • Elizabeth Silva
    Associate Dean of Graduate Programs, Graduate Division, UCSF
  • Marie Sturgell
    Real Estate Consultant, REMAX Prestigious Properties
  • Joaquin Torres
    Director, Office of Economic and Workforce Development, Office of the Mayor
  • Shannon Turner
    Controller, UCSF
  • Donald Woodson
    Director, Center for Science, Education & Outreach, Office of Diversity and Outreach, UCSF
  • Naomi Wortis
    Clinical Professor, Family & Community Medicine, School of Medicine, UCSF